October Foodie Penpal Reveal Day

I hadn’t realised it had been so long since I last posted on here. October was a hell of a month. I was very happy to see the end of it. About three and half weeks ago, our house was burgled. Some opportunists struck lucky and made off with a brand new Trek bike, a laptop, hard drives, jewellery and quite an amount of vouchers. It could have been a lot worse, as we were asleep in the house. Thankfully, nobody was hurt and they didn’t come near our bedrooms. I suppose unfortunately these things happen and there’s nothing you can do about it. And the worst thing is, these guys will probably never be caught and they’ll get away with it time and time again. But as I said, it could have been a lot worse! It’s just quite unnerving to realise that someone was in your house while you were there unbeknownst to us. It felt like quite a violation.

Then couple days later, I was struck down with a severe case of tonsillitis and spent the guts of the two weeks in bed trying to recover. October has not been a good month.

Foodie Penpal

So as a result of these little mishaps, I was a little late sending my Foodie Penpal package to Rachel at FoodNerd4Life – apologies once again Rachel. And apologies I’m late with my Foodie Penpal reveal day, but I haven’t had a chance to update the blog to date. I received my package from Rachel at Silver and Green.

My foodie penpal package from Rachel

Wow. What a little box of tricks 🙂 Thank you so much Rachel for the package, it was so generous and thoughtful. I really loved everything in it!

A little box of goodies 🙂

I really wasn’t expecting so many lovely things. I was like a child on Christmas day unwrapping the box! Rachel, and her partner, run a food business producing and importing Mediterranean delicacies such as olives, olive oil, antipasti and tapas. If their website is anything to go by, they are passionate about food and are definitely worth checking out here: Silver and Green.

So my package included a lovely jar of orzo. I’ve never really used orzo before, but Rachel has included a yummy recipe, which I hope to try over the weekend!

Jar of Orzo

She also included some garlic. Rachel must have psychic powers, because I love garlic!

Garlic

Rachel also included some yummy local delicacies such as Cumberland sauce (which I love!), flavoured salt (will be perfect for a roast chicken) and honey mustard!

Yumminess!

A little treat also in some salted almonds. Which I’ve been advised are a perfect accompaniment for a couple of drinks, so I think I’ll try those this evening seeing as it’s Friday and all! 😉

Salted Almonds

Thanks so much again Rachel, once again a very generous package! 🙂 If you’d like to sign up to Foodie Penpals and are in the UK or Europe check out this blog thisisrocksalt.com or if you’re in the US check out theleangreenbean.com.

Looking forward to this month’s Foodie Penpal shop already! 🙂

Edit: I have just learned that The Lean Green Bean and This Is Rock Salt are both organising a Foodie Penpals for charity in December. Regular Foodie Penpals will resume in January, but for December penpals are being asked to donate to charities helping victims of Hurricane Sandy. A very worthwhile cause in the run up to the festive season. To signup or learn more details see here: Foodie Penpals for Charity

Leave a Reply

