Roast Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup

Following on from my post about making chicken stock, I used some of my stock to make a delicious carrot and sweet potato soup. I made this up basically as I went along, but it was lovely – sweet and tasty.

For this recipe, I used:

1 medium sweet potato

3 carrots

1 tin chickpeas

1 onion and 2 cloves garlic

1 tsp cinnamon

1.2 litre stock

1 cup water

Firstly, I roughly chopped the carrots and sweet potato and roasted them in the oven for about 30 – 35 minutes at 175 C.

Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup

Meanwhile, I gently sweated the onion and garlic in a saucepan. After about 15 minutes, I added the roasted carrots and sweet potato, as well as the can of chickpeas. Add 1 tsp of cinnamon for flavour, stir well to combine flavours.

Next add the chicken stock and cup of water. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer. Allow to cook for about 15 minutes, then remove from the heat. I then blitzed in the food processor and voilla…a yummy soup was made!

I had a bowl myself right there and then and bagged the rest to be frozen. These Pour and Store bags from Aldi are so handy!!!

Leave a Reply

