Steak and Mash

I have to apologise firstly for the quality of the photos on the blog. Unfortunately my camera is out of order and the quality of the Blackberry camera, which I’ve been using up to now isn’t too great! Hopefully my camera will be repaired and back to business soon!

I usually visit my parents on a Sunday for a family meal. I only live about 25 minutes from their house, so I see them quite regularly, but it’s nice to spend a Sunday together. Yesterday my parents were painting the house, while I was scanning and uploading old childhood photo negatives. It was so much fun looking back over all the old memories and being reminded of things we’d forgotten about. It’s a very time consuming process though, and it’s going to take hundreds more hours to upload all the photos we have in the old box at home, but it will be worth it once the process is complete.

So as my parents were painting the house, I cooked dinner. Strip loin steaks, fried onions and portobello mushrooms, and creamy mashed potato.

I slowly sauteed the onions, seasoned with pepper and sprinkled with parsley for added flavour. My mum has recently gone on a low sodium diet, so I was trying to add flavour to the meal without using salt, which can sometimes be difficult, as I love salt. I gently fried the mushrooms on a griddle pan, with a knob of unsalted butter placed on each mushroom. They were so soft and juicy to finish, delicious!

Next to the potatoes: I boiled and finely mashed the potatoes. It’s important to ensure the potatoes are well mashed and there’s no lumps in the mixture. Meanwhile, I heated 2 tbsp mascarpone cheese, around 25g unsalted butter, handful parsley, pinch pepper and 1/4 cup milk in the microwave until the butter was melted. I beat this mixture into the potatoes slowly with a wooden spoon – you may not need to use the full amount, but continue to add to the potatoes until you reach a consistency you are happy with. This recipe was great – really creamy mash – and if you’re looking to be slightly more healthy (although a treat every now and then is acceptable! 😉 ) you could substitute the mascarpone with natural yoghurt.

Finally to the steaks. I like to cook my steaks on a griddle pan over a high heat. I lightly brush them with oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper (Old Bay seasoning for my mum!) and placed seasoned side down onto the smoking hot pan. Next, lightly oil the side facing up and season again. It’s important to only turn your steaks once during cooking. You can move them gently to make sure they don’t stick to the pan, but to make sure you keep all those juices in, only turn the steaks once. Mum likes her steak well done, so allow 6-7 minutes on each side and allow the meat to rest for about 3-4 minutes after cooking. Myself and dad like ours medium, which takes 4-5 mins on each side, allowing the meat to rest for 6 minutes once it’s cooked. Rare steaks should be cooked 2-3 minutes on each side and should be rested for about 7-8 minutes. If you like your steak blue, cook for 1-2 minutes on each side and allow to rest for up to 10 minutes.

Until next time…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

