Chocolate Pistachio Brownies

I don’t really have a sweet tooth, so I’m never quite sure why I bake so much. Perhaps I’m a feeder. I usually pawn my baking off on family and friends! 🙂 I like baking for people.

This recipe was really easy and as I eat a brownie as I type, I can confirm, they are also delicious! I’ve adapted this recipe from Apt2bbakinco’s Sweet and Salty Brownies. I left out the caramel in the recipe, but added pistachios to the brownie recipe. Note, it’s best to use high quality chocolate for the recipe, 70% or higher. I used half the quantity, hence why my quantities may look a bit smaller in the pictures.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 11 oz dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 5 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 4 large handfuls of pistachios

Preheat the oven to 180C. Line a baking tray with parchment paper, butter the tray and sprinkle with flour.

Whisk flour, salt and cocoa powder in a medium bowl. Put the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir occasionally until chocolate and butter are melted. Take the bowl from the heat. Whisk both white and brown sugars into the mixtures until fully incorporated.

Add 3 eggs to the mixture and whisk until just combined. Now add the remaining two eggs and vanilla essence.

Slowly fold the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture to combine. Next fold in the pistachios, be very careful not to over mix at this stage, just fold gently until combined.

Pour mixture into your baking tin and bake for 30 mins. It’s important to turn the tin half way through baking. Take from the oven once cooked, check with the back of a knife to test brownies are cooked. Allow to cool for a minute or two in the tray, then remove and allow to cool completely on a wire rack before slicing or serving.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Pistachio Brownies

  1. Pistachios are a nut I hardly ever use in baking. What a brilliant idea to use them in brownies! I bet these were so good! Also, do you have a brand of chocolate you’d recommend?

    • Hi Allison, thanks for your comment! 🙂 Yes, I’ve only really started using salted nuts with chocolate recently. I was afraid to previously. Silly I know, but I thought it wouldn’t taste good, but it does. So good. Recently, I’ve been on cutbacks, so I’ve been using Tesco Continental 74% Plain Chocolate (around €0.70) or Tesco Finest Swiss 85% Plain Chocolate (approx €1.20). They’re both relatively cheap compared to the branded chocolates, but have a high cocoa solids content, so why not! 🙂

      • Apologies, after looking at your profile, I see that you’re in the States. I’m not sure if you have Tesco close by, but I’m sure any chocolate with high cocoa solid content will suffice for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

