Banana Walnut Bread

Saturday morning I woke up in a very productive mood. Cleaned the house from basement to top floor. Played a few games of tennis. Went for a cycle. Note, this is the first exercise I’ve done since the Triathlon 2 weeks ago. Been a very bad two weeks exercise-wise! So I felt like I deserved a few extra sweet calories, thus decided to make some of my favourite cookies (pistachio and cranberry!). Getting my ingredients from the fridge, I noticed some rather unsightly looking black bananas. Um perfect, I thought. Perfect for some banana bread.

By the way, how cute is this picture!!

So I consulted my Rachel Allen Bake book and found a recipe for Banana Bread. Here goes.

Serves 10-12
Ingredients

  • 250g (9oz) self raising flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 150g (5oz) caster sugar
  • 100g (3.5 oz) softened butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Finely grated zest of 1 orange
  • 475g (17oz) whole bananas (this was about 4 medium sized bananas)
  • 75g (3oz) chopped walnuts
  • 75g (3oz) glazed cherries (I substituted with dried cranberries, as I don’t like glazed cherries)

5 x 9 in loaf tin

Preheat the oven to 170C (325F). Lightly butter, flour and line the loaf tin with parchment paper.

Sift the flour, salt and baking powder into a large bowl. Add the sugar and butter and, using your fingertips, rub it in until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs. Whisk the eggs, vanilla extract and orange zest in another bowl. Add the bananas and mash very well with a potato masher. Add the glazed cherries and walnuts.

Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and pour in the banana mixture. Gently but thoroughly bring all the ingredients together with a wooden spoon, then pour into the prepared loaf tin. Smooth the top and bake in the oven for 1-1 ¼ hours or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Allow to cool for 5 minutes before removing the cake from the tin and leave to cool on a wire rack.

Again, as I’m cooking for one, I like to freeze slices, so there’s something to give visitors when they call by.

Leave a Reply

