Relay Sprint Triathlon. Check.

Again, as part of my ‘Things’ to do, I’ve committed myself to complete a full sprint triathlon. Eeek. In practice for this, I decided I’d do a relay sprint the weekend gone by. I did the cycle element, my sister did the run and my cousin did the swim.

 

We headed off to Rosses Point in County Sligo on Sunday morning. As you can see above, it’s quite the scenic spot.

The event started at 9 am on Sunday morning. The sky was grey and dark as I woke in the morning and it was quite windy. Nerves were high. But all went relatively well in the end. As our first relay sprint, we had hoped to finish in 1 hr 20 mins, but we finished in 1 hr 28 mins, which isn’t all that bad considering. I did the cycle in 45:32, which I was happy enough with.

I’m not sure how I feel about completing a full triathlon. I think I must be nuts? But it’s a challenge and it’s one I would really like to succeed at. I’m going to try my hardest to train and put in the effort to aim to do it towards the beginning of next year’s triathlon season. Swimming will be my downfall. I used to be quite a strong swimmer. But over the years, I’ve become more wary of water for various reasons and I’m not sure I can build up the courage to swim 750 meters in the sea. I don’t like to get out of my depth in the water anymore, once I can touch the bottom I feel pretty secure, but I’m very nervous in the sea or lakes. I do think it’s a matter of overcoming this fear and training to get back to the strong swimmer I used to be. Therefore hitting two birds with one stone – I also need to overcome one fear as part of the ‘Things’! 😉

I’ve put my training program together. It’s an 11 week program. Hoping to complete this twice before the tri season begins, so I will be well fit for my first ever full sprint triathlon. I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

Leave a Reply

