Triathlon on the horizon….

A year or so ago, I got a full health check through work, only to find that unknowns to myself, my BMI was boarding on high. I was overweight. I think subconsciously I knew before I went for the health check, but for some reason was in denial. I didn’t want to face up to facts and this was just the kick I needed to get myself into shape and get fit. I wasn’t obese and wasn’t seriously overweight, but as a 27 year old, I wasn’t fit and was quite unhealthy in terms of my diet routine. Up to then I was allergic to exercise. The most exercise I got on a daily basis was walking the stairs to my third floor bedroom.

I bought a bicycle on the “Cycle to Work” scheme and enrolled myself in some Spin classes at ProZone Fitness and haven’t looked back since. As torturous as it was to begin with, I’ve actually become quite a fan of Spin.  Coming from a level of ZERO fitness, believe me, the first two or three classes were actual torture. But once you persevere and overcome those initial couple days when it’s agony to move your legs, or it pains to sit down, it’s worth it. One of my favourite things about Spin is the way it makes me push myself. As a naturally lazy person, it would be very easy to do an exercise that doesn’t really challenge me, one that is comfortable but not very effective. But Spin isn’t like that. I see everyone else in the room working 100% and it pushes me to reach my 100%.

I’ve seen great results and have lost 9 kgs in about 10 months. I was stuck on a plateau for the past two months or so, but have finally surpassed it this week and am now only 1.5 kgs off my target weight! I had to completely overhaul my diet. As one of our Spin instructors says, it’s 80% diet, 20% exercise. I never ate much junk food or sweet things to begin with, my problem was my portion sizes. Mammoth portions and eating late in the evening. And fizzy drinks. Much too much Lucozade. I’ve since started eating smaller portions and eat dinner at lunch time. Spinning or cycling in the evening and having a small tea after exercise at about 7:30.

I don’t believe in obsessive calorie counting. But it’s good to keep track every now and then to make sure I’m not slipping off the rails again. I started to use MyFitnessPal, which proved very valuable and effective. MyFitnessPal allows you to track your daily food intake and exercise regime. It’s a handy way to keep track of your daily progress, so that you can gauge how much you can eat etc in a day.  

Everyone needs to have some sort of goal when it comes to fitness. Mine, initially, was to lose weight. But now, I need to maintain my current weight, while also having a new goal in sight. Earlier this year, while talking with my sister and cousin (both fitness fanatics  😉  ), I somehow signed myself up for a relay triathlon. So we’re doing it  😕

We’ve signed up to the Rosses Point sprint triathlon on the August Bank Holiday weekend and I’m doing the cycling element. Scary. It’s only 20km. Not a huge distance in the grand scheme of things. But training has been difficult especially with recent weather conditions. I’m hoping, just hoping, that I might be able to get my time down to 40 minutes on the day. I’m hovering at around 43 minutes at the moment, but would be nice to get it down to the 40. Fingers crossed with another 10 days of intense training, it might just be possible!  😉

Leave a Reply

